The Trade Union Solidarity Centre of Finland SASK is the solidarity and development cooperation organization of Finnish trade unions.

SASK is the development cooperation organisation of the Finnish trade union movement. Our aim is to promote decent work and living wages for everyone. We support the reduction of poverty and inequality by strengthening the trade union movement and position of workers in developing countries.

With decent work we mean that people should have access to regulated, safe and healthy work which guarantees a living wage or sufficient livelihood. As far as the core labour standards are concerned we refer to ILO.

ILO Core Labour Standards include (1) freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining, (2) elimination of forced labour, (3) effective abolition of child labour and (4) elimination of discrimination in respect of employment and occupation.

Where we work

SASK has dozens of development cooperation projects in

  • South and Southeast Asia
  • Southern Africa
  • Latin America, mainly Colombia.

Our partners are usually Global Union Federations and trade unions.

How we work

SASK supports the UN sustainable development goals of eliminating absolute poverty and reducing relative poverty globally. Relative poverty can be reduced through collective agreements and social policies that enable the working population to gain their share of national development and wealth. Poverty and inequality are also reduced through promoting social inclusion and increasing people’s opportunities to take active part in social processes.

Trade unionism is a sustainable tool for improving the opportunities of the working population to influence social policies and to reduce inequality. That is why SASK works with the trade union movement and research and training organisations that support its goals.

SASK was founded by the Central Organization of Finnish Trade Unions  SAK and its affiliated unions in 1986. Since then, SASK has become a widely representative solidarity body of the Finnish trade union movement with two central organisations and 34 national federations as affiliated members.

Need our logo?

You can download SASK logos here. A zip file contains logos in different formats.

Contact us

Trade Union Solidarity Centre of Finland SASK
Address: Kaikukatu 3 A, 00530 Helsinki, Finland

Janne Ronkainen
Executive Director
+358 40 776 8557
janne.ronkainen@sask.fi

International operations

Juha Vauhkonen
Head of International Operations
+358 45 139 7119
juha.vauhkonen@sask.fi

Tarja Valtonen
International Operations Officer:
Industry and construction sector
+358 40 541 0107
tarja.valtonen@sask.fi

Anna Perttula
International Operations Officer:
Private service sector and domestic workers
+358 40 541 6155
anna.perttula@sask.fi

Laura Ekholm
International Operations Officer:
Public services, transportation sector and confederations
+358 40 541 0208
laura.ekholm@sask.fi

Regional coordinators

Orlando “Marlon” Quesada
Regional Coordinator, South-East Asia
Manila, Philippines
+63 2 454 2715
marlon.quesada@sask.fi

Address
Room 313, Philippine Social Science Center, Commonwealth Avenue, Diliman 116, Quezon City, Philippines.

Simião Simbine
Regional Coordinator, Southern Africa
Maputo, Mozambique
+258 82 3008534
simiao.simbine@sask.fi

Address
Rua da Imprensa, 256 – Sobrelojano 5, Predio 33 andares Maputo, Moçambique

Manoranjan Pegu
Regional Coordinator, South Asia
New Delhi, India
+91 8800 492125
manoranjan.pegu@sask.fi

Patricio Sambonino Rivera
Regional Coordinator, Latin America (part time)
Quito, Ecuador
+593 9974 74408
patricio.sambonino@sask.fi

Administration

Tarja Rauanheimo
Head of Administration
+358 400 403 502
tarja.rauanheimo@sask.fi

Kirsi Salminen
Accountant
Bookkeeping and payments
+358 40 5412 934
kirsi.salminen@sask.fi

Minna Hokkanen
Administrative and HR Assistant
+358 40 510 8938
minna.hokkanen@sask.fi

Ellinoora Vesala
Fundraising Specialist
+358 50 461 9307
ellinoora.vesala@sask.fi

Communications

Laura Ventä
Communications Manager
+358 44 024 1275
laura.venta@sask.fi

Sini Saaritsa
Communications Officer
+358 40 521 8723
sini.saaritsa@sask.fi

Katri Blomster
Communications Officer (on maternity leave)
+358 40 358 1543
katri.blomster@sask.fi

Aiheeseen liittyvää

Qué es SASK?

El Centro de Solidaridad Sindical de Finlandia SASK es una organización de cooperación para el desarrollo y solidaridad del movimiento sindical finlandés. Creemos en que un

Lue lisää

Suomeen sataa solidaarisuusviestejä maailman ammattiliitoilta

Suomen hallituksen aikeet säätää työntekijöiden asemaa merkittävästi heikentäviä lakeja on huomattu maailmalla. Suomen Ammattiliittojen Solidaarisuuskeskus SASK on vastaanottanut ammattiliitoilta ympäri maailmaa kymmenittäin tukiviestejä, joissa tuomitaan

Lue lisää

SASK avasi uuden toimiston Intiaan

SASK on perustanut virallisen toimiston Intian pääkaupunkiin Delhiin. Tavoitteena on tehostaa SASKin työtä sekä helpottaa yhteistyötä paikallisten kumppanien kanssa. Toimistoa pyörittää SASKin Keski-Aasian aluekoordinaattori Manoranjan

Lue lisää